Remember my post about swearing off the snooze button once and for all? It hurts to be so damn predictable. Really it does. I lasted precisely one week.

Instead of waking up early I’ve perfected the art of the morning scramble, which, unfortunately has absolutely nothing to do with eggs.

It goes a little something like this: Pick up cell phone for fifth time that morning. Calculate how many minutes until my train departs. Ride that shot of adrenaline into the shower. Towel off. Check time. Dress. Check time. Reheat yesterday’s French press coffee on the stove (ghastly, I know). Stare vacuously into the fridge. Surely some blessed personal chef has prepared me a quiche and green salad to bring to work. Please?

Nine times out of 10, I console myself with a PB&J for breakfast, and cheese, crackers, and an apple for lunch before scooting out the door with wet hair and seven minutes to catch my train.

But five weeks ago I did the most amazing thing. I planned ahead. On a shiny Sunday, when my New Year’s zeal still sparkled, I cooked two soups and a whole-grain salad in one afternoon. Oh, that week was a breeze. Every morning I scooped a Tupperware full of this bulgur salad, admiring its ruby-like pomegranate seeds and flecks of parsley. A double-recipe lasted the week, and a wedge of lemon brightened its flavors until Friday.

If variety is the spice of life, I’m convinced whole-grain salads are its sustenance.

Pomegranate Bulgur Salad

Recipe from Whole Living

Serves 4

1 cup bulgur

1 teaspoon kosher salt

1 cup boiling water

4 scallions, thinly sliced on the bias

1/2 cup chopped parsley leaves

1/2 cup chopped mint leaves

1/3 cup golden raisins

1 cup pomegranate seeds

2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

Freshly ground black pepper

In a medium bowl, combine bulgur and salt. Top with 1 cup boiling water and cover bowl with a plate until water is absorbed, 30 minutes.

Toss with scallions, parsley leaves, mint leaves, raisins, pomegranate seeds, lemon juice, and olive oil, and season to taste with salt and freshly ground black pepper.